Dallas Stars Hockey

The Dallas Stars are a professional ice hockey team in the National Hockey League (NHL). Their history begins not in Texas, but in Minnesota.

Minnesota North Stars (1967-1993): The team was initially established as the Minnesota North Stars in 1967 as part of the NHL's six-team expansion. They had a moderately successful run in Minnesota, reaching the Stanley Cup Finals twice, in 1981 and 1991, but didn't secure a championship.

Relocation to Dallas (1993): Due to financial struggles and a drop in attendance, the team was relocated to Dallas in 1993 and became the Dallas Stars. Despite initial skepticism about hockey's viability in a traditionally "non-hockey" market, the Stars quickly developed a dedicated fan base in Dallas.

Success in Dallas (1993-2000): The Dallas Stars enjoyed significant success in the late 1990s. Under the leadership of coach Ken Hitchcock and players such as Mike Modano, Brett Hull, and Ed Belfour, the team won the Presidents' Trophy (given to the team with the best regular-season record) in the 1997-98 and 1998-99 seasons. Their crowning achievement came in the 1998-99 season, when they won the Stanley Cup, marking the first time a team from the Sun Belt had won the NHL championship.

Post-Stanley Cup Era (2000-Present): Since their Stanley Cup victory, the Stars have seen periods of success and struggle. They made the playoffs consistently in the early 2000s, but then went through a playoff drought from 2008 to 2013. In recent years, they've returned to being competitive, reaching the Stanley Cup Finals again in 2020, but falling to the Tampa Bay Lightning.

The team continues to play in the Central Division of the Western Conference and has made a significant impact on growing the sport of hockey in Texas. The team's home games are held at the American Airlines Center in Dallas, which they share with the Dallas Mavericks of the NBA.

Back to top

Copyright © Dallas Information.com, 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Dallas Information.com